Auto InsuranceJanuary 6, 2011 | in The Daily Drive
Texans are about to feel the pinch financially when it comes to auto insurance. Recent changes to the laws which went into effect on 1/1/11 essentially will increase the limits one pays for liability insurance in the state of Texas.
It used to be that the minimum coverage required by the states financial responsibility law were $25,000 for each injured person, up to a total of $50,000 per accident and $25,000 for property damage.
After the 1st, the limits were increased to $30,000 per injured person and up to $60,000 per accident, with property damage limits remaining the same.
This translates anywhere from a 2% to 3% increase an individual policy holder will experience the next time their auto insurance is due if they carry liability only.
This is concerning as it is estimated already close to 17% of all drivers do not have any insurance to start with – and this number is based on those legally licensed drivers. It does not include any of the drivers who are not even licensed or undocumented if you will.
The end result – more people with less auto insurance or more people paying more for minimum coverage.
Remember, DefensiveDriving.com’s online driver safety course is approved by the State of Texas, not only for ticket dismissal but also for discounts for auto insurance. An individual who completes our approved defensive driving course can save up to 10% on their auto insurance. Based on the latest legislation… that 10% can come in handy and it is good for three years.
Not only does our online driver safety program teach you how to be a safer driver, it saves you money! The minimal investment of $25 can save you upwards of $100 the first year! So why wait until you get a ticket to click, go to DefensiveDriving.com and start saving money today!
Click here to start right now!
← Work-related Car Accidents: Who Is Responsible? | Don’t stop the flow! →