Tips before buying a new vehicleAugust 26, 2011 | in Born to Drive
Living in Houston we have the almost an endless means of transportation. From walking to our destination (if it’s close and not to hot) to using public transportation, whether that be Metro or a Taxi service. It goes without saying you need to have some type transportation to get around Houston and its endless attractions and destinations.
Having a car is a luxury. Whether the car is considered a “luxury” car or a “hooptie”. It has been a year since I have purchased Specs. Maintaining a car is not only expensive but it is tedious. When one thing is fixed another thing comes up broken.
Whether you are in the market to buy a “new” used car or just looking because that time is coming soon for you there are some factors that you need to remember before making a down payment.
*Registration Sticker– Registration fees range anywhere from $40.80(2005 and older model vehicles) to $58.80(2009 and new model vehicles) to $50.80(2006, 2007, and 2008 vehicles). Not only is it required by law to have your vehicle with a current registration sticker but the annual money that we all pay to have our vehicles registered goes toward building and maintain our state and county roads.
*Inspection Sticker– Under the Clean Air Act (1990), states are required to implement vehicle emission inspection programs in metropolitan areas whose air quality does not meet federal standards. The cost for an inspection sticker in the state of Texas is $39.75. When getting your car inspected they are checking: Window Tinting, Cracked Windshields, Seatbelts, Vehicle Height Requirements, Headlight Aim, Aftermarket Air Intake Systems, and Engine Swaps
*Car Insurance– Most states require you have car insurance and have laws that outline the minimum level of coverage you must buy. In Texas the minimum liability limits are $30,000 for injury for one person, $60,000 for all injuries, and $25,000 for property damage in an accident. Texas does not require that you personal injury protect (PIP) or uninsured motorist coverage (UM). In Texas nearly every 1 in 5 drivers who operate a vehicle is uninsured. Texas has adopted a series of penalties that escalates with the number of offenses you incur. These penalties include but are not limited to: Misdemeanor, Financial Penalties, Forced Insurance, SR-22, License/Registration Suspension, Vehicle Impounded, and Legal Liability.
*Routine Oil Changes/Break Checks/ Tune ups– These services do not have to be done every month. A routine oil change should take place every 3,000-5,000 miles. Maintaining regular oil changes will minimize costly damages to your vehicle. When you go to get your oil change most mechanics will check your hoses, fluids, transmissions. Breaks are a priority for your vehicle. When you hear grinding, squeaking, or have trouble stopping then immediate action needs to be taken. Most break services are $100 but can quickly get up into the thousands if you want and let the problem get worse. A tune up is done every 2 years or 30,000 miles, whichever comes first. A tune up is also prevent a costly care repair bill.
For more tips of maintaining your vehicle as well as ticket dismissal and insurance reduction check out www.defensivedriving.com.
-Kim← Driving Laws Vary From State To State | Donâ€™t Ignore the Need for a Roadside Safety Kit… →