First Speeding Ticket in TexasOctober 27, 2020 | in Defensive Driving Tips, Everyday Driver, The Speeder In You
Whether you’re a new driver or veteran with thousands of miles behind the wheel, your first speeding ticket doesn’t need to be a big deal. It also doesn’t need to affect your insurance rates, or even be reported to your auto insurance for that matter. As long as you meet a few of the simple requirements, you’ll simply need to pay a few small fines, take a driver’s safety course and the violation won’t be on your record.
If you’ve received your first ticket and are reading this now, you’re probably experiencing some anxiety and uncertainty about what comes next. The good news is that it’s a natural part of driving and the anxiety you have from being pulled over and receiving a ticket is the worst part.
Traffic court is designed to be high-volume and not overtly punitive. The goal of traffic court is to get you to slow down, think about what you could have done differently and not make the same mistake again. There is not a single day which someone doesn’t die during a traffic accident. Speeding and other moving violations are in place to deter bad driving habits or actions to make everyone on the road safer.
Assuming your infraction meets a few basic criteria, you’ll be presented with multiple options to keep the ticket off of your record and you’ll be able to move on with your life. You’ll be able to dismiss the ticket with a simple defensive driving course as long as you meet the following requirements:
- You were not going more than 25 MPH over the speed limit
- You do not hold a Commercial Driver’s license (CDL)
- You have not taken a defensive driving course in the last 12 months
Good news here again! The worst part is over. If you meet those requirements, you’ll be able to plead no contest at your court date and request a driver’s safety course (defensive driving), which the court will ask to you to complete within 90 days and provide them with your Certificate of Completion. This is when you turn to a company like us, where you can complete your required course. DefensiveDriving.com offers approved courses for all courts in Texas, Florida and New Jersey that will allow you to dismiss your ticket for the minimum cost and shortest course time allowed by law.
DefensiveDriving.com offers an award-winning course that is easy and fast to complete so that you can put this experience behind you having learned some new information and saved yourself a lot of money. Our course even comes with a complimentary copy to provide to your auto insurance company to show you completed a defensive driving course. This can provide a discount on your premium of up to 10% for 3 years with many insurance providers.← Can I Be Arrested For Speeding? | Is Eating While Driving Illegal in Texas? →